Create New popup

The Create New popup enables users to select the Nature of the new project, as well as four different options to create a new project: Create from Blank (createNewIcon_newProject_active64_md.png), Create from Template (createNewIcon_newProjectFromTemplate_active64_md.png), Create from Existing (createNewIcon_openProject_active64_md.png), and Create from XML (createNewIcon_importProjectXML_active64_md.png).

Settings

The creation modes that are made available depend on the options selected by the Administrator in the System Settings workspace.

Unavailable modes will be greyed out.

For the Blank, Template, and Existing options, once the creation mode has been selected, the user will be prompted to fill in some key information regarding the project that is going to be created.

Settings

Note that the following key information is defined by the Administrator in the System Settings workspace.

  • Mandatory Fields (indicated by a red asterisk),

  • Available Types for each project Nature,

  • The availability of the Next and Skip Definition buttons.

Creation Mode

Description

createNewIcon_newProject_active64_md.png

The Blank option allows the user to create an empty project. This option will always be available.

Upon selecting the Blank option the user will need to fill in the following fields: Name, Type, and Portfolio Folder.

createNewIcon_newProjectFromTemplate_active64_md.png

The Template option allows the user to insert a template that has already been created in the system.

Upon selecting the Template option, users are prompted to select a project template that will be inserted upon the project’s creation.

Then, the user will have to fill in the following fields: Name, Type, and Portfolio Folder.

The Template field can be used to replace the previously selected template with another template.

If some Tags, Actions, Deliverables, Generic Resources, Risks, and/or Agile Objects exist in the template, the user will be prompted to decide whether these should be inserted or not.

createNewIcon_openProject_active64_md.png

The Existing option allows the user to copy a project that has already been created in the system. It corresponds to a project Save As. 

Upon selecting the Existing option, users are prompted to select a project from a list. Then, the user will have to fill in the following fields: Name, Type, and Portfolio Folder.

If some Deliverables, Generic Resources, Risks, Agile Objects, Connections, and/or Dependencies exist in the copied project, the user will be prompted to decide whether these should be inserted or not.

Note

Users will have the opportunity to remove Actual Data and reset the Workflow State of the copied project if the corresponding options have been activated by the Administrator in the System Settings workspace.

createNewIcon_importProjectXML_active64_md.png

The XML option allows the user to upload an XML file from his/her computer. After the XML file has been uploaded, the creation pop-up is automatically closed and the newly created project is available in the corresponding data selector.

Once all the mandatory fields (indicated by a red asterisk) are filled in for the Blank, Template, and Existing Options, the user can create the project by either:

  • Clicking on the Create & Define button, and continue with the Project Definition popup or,

  • Clicking on Create to close the creation popup.

Both actions will result in the project creation.

Settings

In the event the Project Definition step has been deactivated by the Administrator in the System Settings workspace, the “Next” button will be replaced by a “Create” button.